Manufacturer Powertrains

Renault e.dams

In a change from the first year, season 2 of the all-electric championship allows manufacturers to develop their own bespoke powertrains, rather than use the standardised units of 2014/15.

The components of the powertrain include:

  • Electric motor
  • Inverter
  • Gearbox
  • Cooling system

Freedom of development has been limited to the powertrain for season 2 in order to control costs and drive innovative approaches and investment in this most important area. After all, one of the key foundations of Formula E is to serve as a framework for research and development around electric vehicles. For now, the likes of costly aerodynamic developments will have to wait as all other parts on the car will remain the same.

Eight of the ten Formula E teams have elected to develop their own powertrain:


Dragon Racing will run the powertrain developed by Venturi, whilst Team Aguri are to keep with the standardised unit from season 1.

Whilst Amlin Andretti have developed their own powertrain, difficulties with it during pre-season testing has seen the team also resort to running the season 1 powertrain.