An Electric Start to 2015: #FormulaE arrives in Argentina!

The first Formula E race of 2015 takes place this weekend as the teams and drivers tackle a tricky street circuit in Buenos Aires. Should we expect another nail biter?

Argentina has a significant history within motorsport, having hosted a variety of races across different series over the years, from Formula 1 to Moto GP. Juan Manuel Fangio – five times World Drivers’ Champion – was also an Argentinian and won his home race 4 times. It’s fitting that Formula E arrives at a country full of motorsport history in its first season.

The Circuit


The circuit has a wide array of corners, from hairpins, chicanes and long straights, clearly taking inspiration from the tracks we’ve already raced at. Overtaking will certainly be possible, particularly as the drivers battle into T1 and into T5, whilst overtaking may also be possible into T7 and the final chicane. It’s worth noting that the start line for this track is a few corners away from the finish line; the race will start on the main straight but the chequered flag will wave shortly after the small straight in the final sector. Let’s hope the drivers remember this as they start their final lap! We wouldn’t want a repeat of this now, would we?


The current forecast suggests that race day will be dry however rain is expected throughout the entire week so Saturday’s forecast could change at any moment.

The Drivers Championship

  1. Lucas di Grassi (Audi Sport ABT) 58 Pts
  2. Sébastien Buemi (e.dams Renault) 40 Pts
  3. Sam Bird (Virgin Racing) 40 Pts
  4. Nicolas Prost (e.dams Renault) 24 Pts
  5. Nelson Piquet (China Racing) 22 Pts
  6. JeromeD’Ambrosio (Dragon Racing) 22 Pts
  7. Frank Montagny (Andretti) 18 Pts
  8. Karun Chandok (Mahindra Racing) 18 Pts
  9. Jaime Alguersuari (Virgin Racing) 14 Pts
  10. Oriol Servià (Dragon Racing) 14 Pts
  11. Jarno Trulli (Trulli) 12 Pts
  12. Charles Pic (Andretti) 12 Pts
  13. Bruno Senna (Mahindra Racing) 8 Pts
  14. Antonio Felix da Costa (Amlin Aguri) 4 Pts
  15. Daniel Abt (Audi Sport ABT) 4 Pts
  16. Jean-Eric Vergne (Andretti) 3 Pts
  17. Stéphane Sarrazin (Venturi) 2 Pts
  18. Takuma Sato (Amlin Aguri) 2 Pts
  19. Nick Heidfeld (Venturi) 1 Pts

Lucas di Grassi comfortably leads the championship, having finished on the podium in each of the first 3 races, whereas Buemi and Sam Bird both have a DNF to their names already. Several drivers will be looking for a strong result to kick start their season, with both Daniel Abt and Nick Heidfeld having under performed in the opening races. In the Team Standings, e.dams-Renault lead the way with 64 points, just 2 ahead of Audi Sport ABT. Unfortunately both Amlin Aguri and Venturi have yet to get into the double digits.


You can give a fanboost vote to your favourite driver by heading here:

Can anyone stop Senna from receiving fanboost for the 4th race in a row?

Written by: Anil Parmar


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s